1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting IDPA for almost 2 years. It is very common to shoot a 1 handed COF. I have been told you should always take your weak hand and put it on your chest while shooting. I have heard this is simply so that you do not put both hands on the pistol, I have also been told it improves your 1 handed shooting stance. What is the real reason? Or does it matter?

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
Originally posted by eljay45:

I have been told you should always take your weak hand and put it on your chest while shooting. What is the real reason? Or does it matter?
According to Rob Leatham, doing so increases your stability because if you have you free arm away from your body, in decreases stability. I always shoot this way (with my free arm across my chest) and it seems to work when shooting strong hand/weak hand only.

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
It is also a CQB technique that assumes that you are shooting your gun weak handed for a reason ( because your strong hand/arm is incapacitated). Holding your arm across your chest offers some measure of protection to the vital organs - so even if you can't grasp/shoot a gun with that hand, you still may be able to use your weak arm to shield or block with.

Some bullseye shooters place their strong hand in their pocket when shooting weak handed, again for the stability reason that vapors outlined above.

·
Registered
809 Posts
It makes sense to keep the free hand close to the center of mass since any movement by that arm must be balanced by the rest of the body. In the old days it was taught for another reason also, you were taught to clench the fist and hold it over the heart as a shield. Thank God for Bill Davis!

·
Registered
2,845 Posts