1911Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I am new to competition shooting and would like to use my stock 45 springfield 1911. My question is what changes to the gun can I make to shoot idpa and uspsa with the same gun. I have read the rules and I think I understand most of them. I would really like to add a magwell . Is this ok for most classes. Any help to a new shooter would really be appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Dan

·
Banned
1,607 Posts
Dan, it is OK to add a magwell in both IPSC and IDPA. You would shoot Limited 10 in IPSC and CDP in IDPA. You can add a tungsten guide rod in Lim. 10.
BTW there is an IDPA match held just outside of Jasper each month. You can go www.georgiaidpa.org for more info.

·
Registered
426 Posts
You can add a magwell but be careful that the gun will still fit in theIDPA box. My Springfield with Kings magwell just makes it, in fact the spring on the Bomar is slightly depressed. No problem for USPSA Limited 10.

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,428 Posts
As long as you don't change to a bushingless barrel, you can do just about any of the popular 1911 mods. As already mentioned, you don't want to add much grip length, or the gun won't fit in the IDPA box, and you don't want to add anything that increases the weight. Sights, triggers, extended controls are mostly OK - the IDPA rule book is available online, at idpa.com - and the equipment rules are all there. Anything that is IDPA legal is also USPSA legal.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replys,
That answers most of my questions.
I can't find in the rule books anything about extended slide releases. I was in a motorcycle accident years ago and lost a lot or feeling in both my thumbs and have had the larger slide release on several 1911s over the years. I see that extended mag releases are not allowed in most classes but can't find anything on the larger slide releases.

Dan

·