1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems like a number of manufacturers are offering 1911s that come from the factory as .22s. Anyone have any experience with these? I already have a .22 top end (sold by Kimber) but don't like giving up one of the 45s to use it. Would it be reasonable to by a low priced 45 to dedicate to the very accurate 22 top end? Pros? Cons?

·
Registered
1,641 Posts
I have one of the first GSG 1911's. Other than the broken bushing and magazine follower redesign, it has been very reliable over the 1,000's of rounds I have shot out of it. It's not a target gun, but is a fun plinker.

·
Registered
12,457 Posts
I'll be brief because I have no owner experience with such a .22 chambered 1911-style.

When I've looked at such guns, I've found that their "inner workings" are so markedly different from a real 1911 (especially slide/barrel components), that I've been persuaded that they cannot leave me with a good feeling ... i.e., it has been altered so much that, to me, it merely has a superficial appearance similarity to a 1911.

A Ruger Mark III (or, if you can find one, a Mark II or Mark I), which is built around the .22 cartridge appears, to my thinking, to be a better selection for a 1911 enthusiast who occasionally wishes to shoot a .22 semi-auto on the range. Added: The weight of some versions of the Mark III is essentially the same as the weight of a typical steel-framed 1911, and the grip profile (for several versions) is not that different from a 1911.

Some others will have a different opinion ... and their opinions are just as worthy as mine, as this subject is all about opinions.

·
Registered
1,275 Posts
I have a Colt (Walther) 1911-22 - got a couple thousand rounds through it, and I'm happy with it. Couple of little quirks - doesn't like cheap lead ammo - runs best on copper jacketed quality .22 ammo - I generally use CCI...