1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any actual data on the percentage of overpenetrations of 230 FMJ, and/or estimated exit velocity. Just curious.

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
Penetrations and exits of what?

Please don't say "people". There are WAY too many variable for any kind of relevant data to penetration/exit velocity.

A 230 FMJ may penetrate and exit the abdominal cavity, provided it doesn't hit the spinal column, but there haven't been many volunteers to have the exit wound velocity chronographed.

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yup...people. Mainly curious if there is any data out there. I would guess the estimate of exit velocity would be from forensics gathered at a scene (e.g. bullet penetrated .8" into sheetrock behind deceased).

This was more of an "If there ain't no data, then why do so many people talk about 230 FMJ's DANGEROUS overpenetration". Just a pet peeve of mine. I'm an engineer, and see a lot of 'facts' derived from 'no data' when I'm at work.

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
Originally posted by gm45:
"If there ain't no data, then why do so many people talk about 230 FMJ's DANGEROUS overpenetration.
Well, all other things being equal, FMJ will penetrate more than any other bullet.

Unfortunately, all other things are NEVER equal when it comes to forensic ballistics.

It is too hard to compare shootings, even with the same load/bullet configuration. The angle at which the bullet strikes, makes a significant change in penetration and internal wound channeling. A hollowpoint round will overpenetrate too, if the circumstances and variables are right. It is very difficult to compare and correlate data into any relevant result, because no two shootings are ever the same.

Yes, FMJ will USUALLY penetrate more than HP. How much more depends on too many factors.

·
Registered
479 Posts