1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to these calibers, i know the .40 is faster and can hold more rounds in a mag, and the .45 has more stopping power/knock down power.. so whats the diff, ? help
isi

·
Administrator
72,119 Posts
Whatever differences are arguable. Some will say the .40 is more powerful than the .45, while detractors will counter that claims like that are based on weak, inconclusive, or too-new information.

Whatever the case, I don't personally own a .40 because I can't find a reason to. If I want a small, compact weapon I'll use a 9mm. The weapons are usually slightly smaller, have noticeably less recoil, and often hold an extra round or two. Most (but not all) 9mm's are usually more accurate than similar models in .40 as well. But if I want a big, powerful gun it's going to be a .45 (and a 1911) all the way. A time-proven cartridge chambered in what is arguably the best balance between power and control available.

------------------
D. Kamm
USGI M1911/M1911A1 Pistols Website
http://www.geocities.com/M1911_M1911A1

[This message has been edited by dsk (edited 10-24-2001).]

·
Banned
5,952 Posts
Dsk pretty well covered it. I might add that if you're on the wrong end looking down the bore of a .45 it's a lot more intimidating than a .40 S&W.

If you really want to have some fun, try a 1911 in 10mm. It'll knock your socks off!

Regards,
Sam

·
Registered
2,395 Posts
My understanding also is that the 40 works at much higher pressure levels than the 45, so less room for error to achieve similar result.

·
Registered
660 Posts
I don't care what caliber it is. I really don't want to be looking down at the bore of any pistol if it's pointed at me!!

I don't know of anyone, that I know, who has stopped to ask a suspect if they were more scared because they were pointing a .45 at him/her.