1911Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and use a Dillon Square Deal to load 230 LRN .45 ACP

I have had problems with bullet chambering. My bullets were 1.270 to 1.275 and a width of 0.473 at the top of the brass case.

I figured out that the bullets weren't seating correctly since the top ring of the bullet (LRN) was exposed and there was a slight gap between the ring and the case. I addressed this by adjusting Station 3 and now have a bullet length of 1.230 and it seats properly without rings showing. It also passes the plunk test. For comparison purposes, my commercial rounds are 1.250 and 0.470 width.

Two questions: 1) I am loading 4.2 grains of Bullseye. Will the slightly shorter cartridge length create pressure problems? and, 2) I am considering adjusting Station 4 to get to 0.470 width since this is what I measure with commercial loads and this takes makes the transition from the bullet to the brass nearly flush whereas I still have a very slight edge now.

Thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
14,943 Posts
Welcome to our Reloading Bench section of the Forum. Glad to have you and hope you'll be a "regular". :)

Your questions are not uncommon for beginning reloaders, and we get them, or some variation of them, at least weekly.

Your did good in figuring out on your own that the overall length (OAL) of your rounds (round, not bullet, the bullet is the projectile) was too long at 1.270. Although you OAL will work at 1.230", it should also work at 1.250" which is a fairly common OAL for a round using that bullet.

To answer your specific questions:
1. You are fine and safe using 4.2gr Bullseye with that OAL. That would still be considered a mild to moderate load.