1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to start loading for the 1911. What projectiles do you like which would have availability? Occasional target shooting out back. I don’t use much I grab the .40’s first

·
Premium Member
11,155 Posts
A couple of the best sources for a true FMJ are Precision Delta (bulk by the 2K) and Zero bullets from Roze Distribution. Both very accurate and reasonable. For plated, XTreme manufacturing. Usually some good deals on shipping.

·
Super Moderator
15,046 Posts
For me, 200gr LSWC's have been my bullet of choice for 45acp since I started shooting in the mid-60's. Nowadays I like the coated ones better than plain lead. Performance is the same. It's just aesthetics.

·
Registered
4,576 Posts
Hey Dub, I just took 2 Advil for you! (y)
Here's the funny part......look at where my son tossed yesterday's mail....a case of 124gr hp's from Montana Gold.

I can't get mad at him because there wasn't anywhere to place it at the bottom of the stairs due to all the 200gr stuff. :D

He said he heard the dogs barking at the mail lady....and he ran out and took the package off her truck and brought it in. Good guy.

Gonna either break it down into small trips....or have him slump it upstairs later today.

I think I have a fairly good base to work with on 9mm/.38Super & .45acp. Rifle bullets are in good shape for hunting and then .223 & .308 target.....somewhat okay with the 6.5 tips.

Have some 10mm to start with.

Lacking are the bullets desired for .44 mag & .357 mag.

·
Registered
2,042 Posts
I don't shoot a lot of lead projectiles any more. I often shoot Berry's plated bullets and RMR jacketed. I also have shot a lot of xtreme plates. It is to some extent and availability thing, though that has gotten MUCH better over the last four months. I just loaded up a batch of Berry's 230 HP plates bullets.

·
Registered
2,395 Posts