1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all. I'm starting on a caliber I've never done before - 8mm Mauser. I've done a search, with no results, and I'm fairly new here, so please forgive me if I've missed something. What I'd like to know, is whether I should neck size only, or full length size this new (or soon to be used) brass (to be loaded with a Privi 200gr FMJ - all I could find on short notice:cool: - still looking though!)? I know I neck size my .303 brass for my SMLE due to it being rather rough on brass b/c of it's somewhat unsupported nature (but this's my first Mauser). This is new Privi brass, and will be used in a Yugo M48. Further load details TBD! I'll be using either WW or CCI primers though! ;)
This rifle is supposed to be unissued - and it looks the part. It has been fired though, but with literally NO wear and tear. I still need to do a detail strip for cleaning, too, still has a bit of cosmoline in it. Got a steep learning curve here, since I'd like to make some pew pews as soon as possible - WITHOUT cutting any corners! Been at this reloading/handloading thing too long for shortcuts!! Anyway, I look forward to your responses. Can't wait to get it to the range!!!! 馃槏馃槏(y)(y):cool::cool:

TIA,
Mike.

Premium Member
If it were me, I'd full length resize the first time out of a new rifle. After that, if you are going to shoot it out of the same rifle, neck size would do. Oh, by the way, I would sure love to see a couple pictures of that rifle. :)

My $0.02
Grumpy

Registered
Most of the surplus rifles I've bought that were in unissued condition, including a Yugo 24/47, had 'generous' chambers. As do most military rifles. Cleanliness is not often found in battle. Ammo as well as rifles can get rather cruddy.

Registered