1911Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a close friend, actually he is most likely to be my brother in-law in the near future. He would like to purchase a 1911 pistol but is on a budget. Now I am new to the 1911, I just purchased a Kimber Custom Defender II last week. My question is would a Daly be his best bet. They seem to me to be the most good looking and feature packed 1911 in his price range (About $500-550). Compared to my Kimber, what kind of reliablity and accuracy could he expect from a Chuck.
Thanks to all in advance for your guidance.
Ed.

·
Registered
287 Posts
futureleo,
Check out the archives of the Charles Daly section of this forum. Many Charles Daly owners on this forum, including myself, have nothing but praise for these exceptional pistols with such an outstanding value. Anything positive I would say here is just something that has been repeated time after time.

There is only one negative that I have regarding the Charles Daly line of 1911's. They are considered by many to be an "entry-level" 1911. The only rebuttal I have to this hasty opinion is to actually shoot a Charles Daly. You won't believe the looks on their faces.

It's funny to see people scratching their heads wondering why they spent so much on a "big name" pistol when the moderately priced Daly can at least match or out-perform theirs.

·
Registered
802 Posts
futureleo

Don't know what they're selling for in Jersey, but around here, the Daly's are selling from $360 - $420.

Good luck

JSP

·
Registered
27 Posts
I bought a Charles Daly last august and paid $350 or $360 for it. I havent kept exact count of the rounds that it has shot. I would think at least a couple thousand rounds based on the amount of brass I have packed home from the range. It has been a real good pistol so far.