1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still a Novice when it comes to the .45 caliber realm. Here's my question so that I may better understand the rationale with the 1911 :

What are the differences between 1911 Purists whether they carry : Colt - Dan Wesson - Springfield - Kimber - Para - Les Baer - Wilson - etc. as opposed to those who carry the .45 in a Non 1911 fashion like the Sig P220 - GLOCK 30/37 - Ruger P95 - Beretta Cougar .45

I'd like to know why the 1911s' are preferred to non 1911 .45 caliber carry.

I apologize if this question is too basic. I'm trying to learn and understand the 1911. Thanks!

·
Registered
230 Posts
my theory

Hiya Razor,my theory is that it is what the good 'ol USA used for its finest servicemen,so i think that just sticks too people that way, I guess you would say History,plus,it really is an awesome pistol.I only own 1,but rest assured,more will follow.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have an original WWII that was given to me by my uncle. I've fired quite a bit it needs some work. After the holidays I'll give it the proper TLC it needs.

Currently I hate to use the term but what the heck:biglaugh:
I'm "lusting" for the Dan Wesson Patriot Expert in Stainless. It seems that this gun has everything I could want short of a super custom model or one that you build yourself---- I'm not that experienced yet!;)

I was just curious why the majority prefer the 1911.

·
Registered
352 Posts
can't speak for anyone else, but this is why I prefer the 1911:

1) the SA trigger. No DAO or DA/SA trigger comes close to the consistency of the 1911's SA trigger. Everything else just feels soggy.