1911Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been told that my Kimber Pro Elite and Wilson CQB Compact are not allowed in the Single Stack match. According to their rules of competition, the coned barrels on these guns make them illegal for use.

I'm kind of new to the competition side and was wondering "Why"? It seems kind of silly that these guns are not permitted, yet my Wilson Protector is.

·
Super Moderator
7,741 Posts
If you are referring to the Single Stack Classic in Barry IL, you are correct in assuming that your guns are not allowed. No bull barrels of any type are allowed. Why you ask? Its just one of those rules things. The guy who wrote them, won’t change them. That’s fine. It’s his match. Bull barrels would be nice, but so would extended dustcovers, Tungsten sleeved barrels and 10 round mags. I think Richard and Russell didn’t want the match to become an equipment race. Just bring out your single stack and shoot. Great match. See you there?

Tom Freeman
http://www.limitedgun.com/PPPS

·
Registered
84 Posts
I would love to come shoot my single stack, but it too is BANNED by the bushing lovers. I guess you can write the rules any way you want when it's your match.

No hard feelings, just a shame.

Too bad too, it would have been neat to see and it's not too far of a drive from Michigan.

I am new to single stacks, complete rookie actually. I was very disappointed when I found out I was not welcome at SSC.

I would like to know what advantage a bull barrel gives me in a 4" lightweight aluminum frame carry gun, for my information of course.

I guess the bushing is why I am so mediocre at shooting my Para P16. At least I can blame my misses on not having a bull barrel now as well.

I am sure the weight of the bull barrel would help in an intentionaly heavy steel frame gun but that cannot be true of the light weight commander style single stack. The PRO CDP is only 28ozs, less than typical bushing equipped 5" gun.