1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all, I was hoping to get a bit of group think on my newest Colt, since I am somewhat new to the 1911 game and Colts in general. I have been looking for a Commander sized and picked this one up in trade. I had planned on doing the usual for a daily carry piece from a good gunsmith (flared/lowered, reliability package, new sights, etc) but now that I actually have this one, I am wondering if I should put it in the safe and get another one to go to town on.

It has checkered wood grips with the gold medallion (they look almost plastic) and seem to have a plastic trigger and MSH. This gun is barely shot and is super tight. No rattle or barrel wiggle at all. It also has a type of finish I have not encountered before, and to me what are rather odd sights. It just has a different "feel" to it than a lot of newer Commanders I have seen, so I wanted to make sure I was not making a mistake shooting it and turning it into a daily carry.

Any thoughts on that, overall value, and collectibility are greatly appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
318 Posts
Looks like a typical mid-to-late 1970s Combat Commander in satin nickel. Someone has replaced the trigger and grip screws, as the originals were also nickel plated out-of-box. The grips look stock wood to my eye.