1911Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this topic has been covered already. I am looking to add a set of "target" sights to my CD FS. From my understanding, BoMars would require major modifications to the slide. I saw a set from "MGW" in the Brownells catalog that appear to be the style I am looking for. I didn't know if there are any sights that will specifically "fit" my CD or if all 1911 style sights are of a standard size. I am still new to the 1911.

Thanks in advance for any help/info/tips/advice!!

·
Banned
1,607 Posts
The Chucks have a non-standard DT. The front is a 60 degree with a .085 depth and .332-.344" width. Rear is 60 degree with a .097" depth and .365-.372" width. Front height is .244", rear is .318". I have had several conversations with the Chuck people about standardizing the DTs.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Originally posted by Joe D:
The Chucks have a non-standard DT. The front is a 60 degree with a .085 depth and .332-.344" width. Rear is 60 degree with a .097" depth and .365-.372" width. Front height is .244", rear is .318". I have had several conversations with the Chuck people about standardizing the DTs.
Before I got my chuck I contacted them about this and they sent it out to me, now that I have my chuck they do not want to help me out with it at all.
Also these dimensions do not seem to be right as far as I can tell, both dovetails seem to be right around .325" wide, the rear is slightly wider that the front.

·
Banned
1,607 Posts
The dimensions I listed are about what I have found on two Chucks I checked. There is considerable variation from gun to gun, hence the heavy staking. They are sending me a "special" oversize front sight to look at.

·
Registered
233 Posts