1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a NOOB, please be gentle,
The more I learn about handguns, ammo and all related stuff, the 2nd biggest cost we have, behind our guns, is ammo. When I do find some I feel guilty paying for it, because I'm just going to use it up, which is the point.
Last week something happened at the range that got me thinking. What happened was I had just received back from S&W my 9mm Sigma for trigger repair and I wanted to see how it would work. I loaded a magazine with "Sellier & Bellot 9mm Luger 115gr and went to work from 25'. I finished and pulled the target back and saw 7 holes all over the target, no consistency, so, I thought "WTH" and reloaded with Winchester 115gr FMJ put the target back at 25' pulled the trigger ten times, pulled the target back and all 10 were in the black. I talked to the guy at the range, who sold me the ammo, and his explanation was that L&B is a hotter load and my gun doesn't like it. That's just the way it is and I should just shoot it up. Thing is I had just bought over $100 worth of this ammo and, I didn't say anything but I was pissed at his attitude. In addition, in the last 6 months I've spent well over $2K in his store.

So if in fact it's true that certain guns don't like certain ammo why don't we design a cross reference chart based on our experiences to help other people, NOOBIES, to avoid wasting $ on ammo that won't help them. Or, is this guy blowin' smoke up my hole??

Also, the trigger job by S&W made my Sigma a terrific gun!

By the way I sent an email to L&B's HQ in CZ, they responded and asked for my phone number so a local rep could talk to me.

What do you guys think?
Jack

·
Registered
3,906 Posts
It is true that individual guns are partial to particular brands and types of ammo. I think this is especially in rifles.