1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I begged a long-time friend who has an extensive and well known 1911 collection, to please bring me a early 1911 to see, to handle, to appreciate....one with the old rounded rear sights, I added (something I had never even see in person).

Yesterday he came over, and he brought me one and said "This is for you, this is yours......I know you can't afford one, and I want you to have it"

:eek:
:confused:
:bawling:
:eek::)
:rock::rock::rock::rock:
:cool:

Serial 21,xxx in maybe 60%, no pits or dents, and frame/slide tight and smooth..... it is utterly beautiful. The thought behind the gift was even more beautiful than the gun.

He told me the hammer and bbl are not correct, I don't care.
I refinish firearms for a living, he told me I should refinish it.....never! The condition it was in, is the way if was given to me, and the way it will stay just, so every time I view it, I will remember how I felt in my heart when a friend gave me something I had wanted all my life.

I will cherish my first real Colt USGI 1911 just as I will cherish the memory of how I felt when it was given to me........I will cherish them both forever.

One of the best and heart warming days of my life......will never forget, and have my very first USGI 1911 to always remind me of that day.
My friend didn't/doesn't know this, but he gave me the gift, on my birthday.
What a wonderful birthday, it was. What a wonderful friend I have.

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Congrats. Good times with good friends.

·
Premium Member
1,362 Posts
Alright brother....congratulations

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
Great story... great friend

I have one of those too. We buy and sell guns to each other and have for 40 years or more.