1911Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All

I am new to Dan Wesson and 1911's. I have been searching the forums
to see what I can learn. It was because of forum searches and reviews I ordered a DW pointman marksmen. Regarding magazines what I am gathering is that seven round magazines are generally reliable while eight round magazines may or may not be depending on brand and or model. Extended longer magazines may avoid the problems of flush fit eight round magazines. Is this so ? What extended magazines would you recommended for eight and 10 rounds. Feel free to correct any misunderstandings on my part

Thank you
Newbang

·
Registered
2,048 Posts
Magazine problems or the potential for them are common among all brands of 1911's not just DWs, quite a bit depends on the ammo being used (mostly the overall length of each round).
That said, in my PM7 (2005 vintage, 45ACP, 230 gr FMJ, 230gr JHP mostly factory loads) I have had no problems with the original DW magazines (old school 7 round GI style, 7 rounds), Wilson ETM (8 rounds, designed that way) and Tripps 8 rounders. I personally like the way the Tripps work the best. Not saying the others are bad, just that I like the Tripps.

I have no experience with any other magazines in my gun, so will not offer an opinion on them.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Magazine problems or the potential for them are common among all brands of 1911's not just DWs, quite a bit depends on the ammo being used (mostly the overall length of each round).
That said, in my PM7 (2005 vintage, 45ACP, 230 gr FMJ, 230gr JHP mostly factory loads) I have had no problems with the original DW magazines (old school 7 round GI style, 7 rounds), Wilson ETM (8 rounds, designed that way) and Tripps 8 rounders. I personally like the way the Tripps work the best. Not saying the others are bad, just that I like the Tripps.