1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking for a holster for my 1911 on the Internet a little, but I am new to pistols and not sure what to look for.

A friend has recommended the Galco Combat Master.

I also saw the Desantis Thumb Break holster - are they any good? They seem to be a little cheaper, but I'm guessing that I'd get what I paid for.

As far as what I'm looking for:

- Concealment is not a priority, comfortable open carry is

- Good quality

- Leather

- Belt slide

- In the neighborhood of $50, if possible. I know quality costs money, but I am looking for value.

I'm not sure whether or not I need/want a thumb break. It seems like a good idea for open carry.

I'm also going to eventually want a holster compatible with a USGI pistol belt/LBE, but not drop leg.

As far as belts go, I assume I will need one in the future and plan to buy one. Since this is not going to be a self-defense pistol, but primarily a plinking gun, I am putting off buying one.

·
Registered
333 Posts
I'm happy with my High Noon for my 5" 1911. It was about $55 local. If i could go back though, i'd get a High Noon with slide guard. I found myself switching to smooth grips because the checkering would rub my skin, and im too stubborn to wear an extra undershirt.

I wish I could go back to my CCW infancy, when I thought the $15 Don Hume IWB clip on was comfortable... it was so much cheaper!

·
Registered
421 Posts
more expensive, but still

affordable.

http://brommelandgunleather.com.

check out some of the reviews. if you want comfort, and real world concealment,
Brommeland is the way to go.

I am 5'11", 235lbs, and carry a 5" kimber in Gary's Max Con V, w matching belt. 6p/mag carrier on the way.
Gary is an absolute professional in every sense. i say that not based on just my opinion, but there seems to be a sudden influx of Brommeland toters lately.