1911Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have two presses both a Dillion 550B and a old RCBS junior. My experience has been that I make better ammo on my single stage junior. Now that is because I meter and check and weigh every round on the single stage and am meticulous on all the steps. I have been loading benchrest ammo for about 20 yrs, and been playing with wildcats for most of that.

I am split between households for work reasons and don't spend a lot of my time in my permanent house so I am away from my loading room.

My oldest is buying his dear old Dad another press for Xmas and I am in a indecision mode. I could get another Dillion ( did I say he is a very GOOD son ? ) but I am looking at a turret head also. The amount of rounds I shoot are around 600-800 a month. I am discounting the 9mm ammo I use as at I don't see quite the economic reasons to load that, and am really only willing to reload premium 9. I will be loading 45 ACP, 45 Long Colt, 41 Mag, 38 Super, and 10mm. Don't use the 45 LC much any more but I use about equal amounts of the other three 40 calibers. If I ever get any more time free from work I am planning on doubling my shooting time as I am considering Bullseye Match (Perry=dream).

But to sum it up I want to load match grade ammo most of the time, and 500 rounds per hour isn't important, as I can't weigh each round ( I weigh my brass also ). But on occasion I would like to load around 100-150 a hour.

So any suggestions, I notice Redding has the T-7, and I like the Ponsness/Warren Metallic II. Anybody had experiences with either one of these presses. Both of these companies have excellent reputations in the Benchrest community.

·
Registered
45 Posts