1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the carry world and I'm looking to carry IWB. I just got my Garrett Silent Thunder and the quality is off the charts. My only concern is the size/weight of the gun might be a little excessive for IWB. any thoughts?

·
Registered
4,730 Posts
I carry the SCP HD IWB on a regular basis. I use a custom leather gun belt or Wilderness Tactical reinforced Instructor Belt, and a holster from TT Gun Leather. The weight of the gun is not an issue for me with this setup.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I got the full size SC Custom HD that i carry all day IWB....the pro should not be a problem :)

·
Premium Member
15,298 Posts
SC = Super Carry. It's designed for carry. Whether it's too heavy for what you want for carry is a personal thing. How to carry is even more personal, but don't go fad or cheap, get good gear made for carry. Full size 1911's are carried all the time. No reason a commander size 1911 in all steel with a butt designed for carry won't carry just as good or better.

Gear.......there's a sub forum for that where you'll get complete info. and search will find more than you'll ever want to know. ;)

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
Nah, if you have a good belt and holster it will carry just fine as long as you don't mind the weight (some are more sensitive to it than others for various reasons).

I carry a Pro Carry II in a Milt Sparks Summer Special 2 daily and its only 7 oz lighter empty, works great for me.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Im carrying it in a Garrett Industries Silent Thunder. I think my problem lies in the belt, as im using my standard 1.25" dress belts.

·
Registered
4,730 Posts
Im carrying it in a Garrett Industries Silent Thunder. I think my problem lies in the belt, as im using my standard 1.25" dress belts.
I don't have experience with the holster, but the regular dress belts just do not get the job done.

·
Registered
192 Posts