1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Administrator
74,040 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like many shooters I got started in guns shooting .22s. During my teenage years they were all I shot, since I could do so in the woods right next to my house. Then came adulthood and membership in the local range, and once I started shooting centerfires the .22s went back in their boxes or were relegated to the back of the safe. For a decade or so I all but stopped shooting my .22s. Then came a modest revival in interest in shooting them, and now with the ammo crunch I'm finding I shoot them far more often than my centerfire guns, to the point where I even bought a rimfire conversion for my ARs. While all ammo is extremely hard to find and much more expensive, I wince less paying $50 for a brick of .22 ammo than I do being told I have to pay nearly the same amount if I want a single 50-round box of 9mm ammo.

What the situation has done is given me a newfound appreciation for the fun and simplicity of taking an iron-sighted old .22 rifle out into the woods and popping soda cans, clay pigeons and swinging metal targets. The same kind of shooting I did as a teenager back when my guns were mostly just for weekend entertainment.

·
Registered
2,613 Posts
The .22's are fun. Probably where we all started. And I agree maybe we all may need to go back and enjoy them. I actually dug my favorite .22 rifle out of a closet for the first time in decades last weekend. Concerned about rust and pits but it weathered well.

·
Premium Member
4,533 Posts