1911Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've heard marginal things about Oly Arms rifle products,but the few things I've read about the Safari Arms pistols seem to be pretty good.Is the quality of these guns close to say......Kimber?Would they be a decent platform for further modification?Their web site seems to indicate alot of hand fitting,which(in my mind)makes the price almost unbelievable.Any and all indepth experiences you all can share would be much appreciated.

Thanks,Byron

·
Registered
21 Posts
I have owned many guns in my 67 years. My Safari Arms Big Duece is the only one I would never sell or otherwise part with. My son gets it when I can no longer pull the trigger.

·
Registered
54 Posts
While I am by no means an expert shooter, I'm VERY happy with my safari matchmaster. It's easily a step above the kimber pro carry and compact stainless that I have. The only complaint I have is the front strap checkering is obviously cast on, and looks a little cheesy if you look closely. I'd have preferred a smooth front strap, or stippled, etc. I'd say it'd make an excellent starting point for a competition gun. I plan on sending mine to a gunsmith when I get the cash, and decide I can part iwth it for a year.

·
Registered
4,648 Posts
Byron, I've got a SA Matchmaster, Black Widow and GI Model. Each of these I've owned for many years and many thousands of rounds. They have NEVER failed. EVER. The all steel fingergroove takes some getting used to but once you do it all but dissapears. The Quality of my Matchmaster and Black Widow are Excellent, not to the extent of my Wilson CQB but close enough. The GI model is just that, a GI model but it feeds and function every time the trigger is pulled. I paid $575 for my Matchmaster and the same for my Blackwidow and $375 for my GI Model.

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
gray owl,
What's a big duece? Used to have a matchmaster, but never heard of the big duece.

·
Registered
4,648 Posts