1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,048 Posts
Yes. Simple reason is that it makes the gun fit me better, points more naturally. The Wilson VGrip is another good option.

·
Registered
8,545 Posts
My doublestack P14 even has an arched MSH, but, if I close my eyes and hold the pistol up in a blind sighting presentation, and then open my eyes, the sights are lined up perfectly, which tells me it fits my hand well for some odd reason.

·
Premium Member
15,729 Posts
I always have preferred the A1 housing, but recently picked up a Taurus with the straight housing - I must say after handling it a lot over the last few weeks, the A1s are now feeling a little 'humpbacked'! I guess it's all in what you get used to. Those will not be changed, however, since they're too collectible to shoot in the first place. One is a WWII A1 and the others are Colt Government Models.

·
Premium Member
485 Posts
I started shooting 1911’s when almost all of them came from the factory with the arched MSH and I’ve always thought it felt by far the best in my hand (large hand, the “arch” fits that area of my palm perfectly) and I also like the looks of the arched.

Recently, I picked up two new 1911’s that came with a flat MSH with a magwell speed-chute already blended… I decided not to be hard headed and give the flat MSH a serious try again and I shot several local matches with both the 9mm & .45ACP 1911 with the flat MSH in place.

I just couldn’t get comfortable with the feel and I noticed that all of my shooting was hitting low… when I switched back to the arched MSH, it felt right and the arch palm area raised the front sight the right amount for me when shooting quickly in matches.

Last weekend, I installed arched MSH’s on my two new 1911’s and threw the flat’s in my spare parts box.

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,332 Posts