1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a Colt Combat govt. off the net. It's a series 70 with a 70B prefix. I have a Combat Elite. And as far as I can tell it is the predecessor to the Cambat Elite. It basically looks like a basic 70 series Colt. Can anyone tell me if there is anything really special about the Combat Govt.? In the Blue book it called the Combat Govt., "Bluish-black metal finish, features modifications for combat shooting forerunner to the Combat Elite." Leaves a lot to be desired in an explanation. What exactly are these "Modifications for combat shooting" that is more than a standard 70. Thank You for any input, and a Merry Chr...oooops, better be politically correct...Happy Holidays!!:dope:

·
Registered
1,485 Posts
Congratulations! You've got a classic Colt series 70. Hang on to it.
Nothing special about it, except it's probably of a far higher quality than
Colt puts out today. I think they had better sights than the regular
series 70 and maybe a better trigger? Keep it, cause they don't make
them like that anymore.

PS: Times are changing, the correct greeting is Merry Christmas!
Happy Holidays is for geeks, modern metro men, liberals and wimps.

Merry Christmas.

·
Registered
1,671 Posts
I have two Combat Governments, a series 70 shooter that was my duty gun for quite a while and a recently acquired unfired series 80 safe queen. They differed from a standard Government Model in that the front strap is verticaly serrated like the Gold Cup. A higher profile rear sight with white outline, a partridge style high profile front sight, the ejection port was powered and relieved, the had a flat mainspring shousing and a long trigger. The feed ramp was also polished and the chamber throated.

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
It may have the beveled mag well also. I am not sure if they started that on the Combat Governments but I think so.

·
Registered
1,103 Posts