1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to 1911s and also a lefty. Other than installing an ambi-safety are there any models that have reversible mag-releases or any other points that might make them more "lefty friendly"?

Thanks.

·
Registered
941 Posts
A company called Randall made some complete mirror image lefty stainless mil-spec pistols in the early 80's...Very high quality pistols...Hard to find now because of collector interest...As I recall someone on this forum had one....

·
Registered
841 Posts
I'm a lefty too. All you really need is the ambi-thumb safety. You can manipulate the rest of the controls well without any 'lefty' parts. Use the trigger finger to trip the slide release and the mag release. I have never found it to be a problem. Some right handed guys get the ambi-mag release to allow them to use their trigger finger to drop the mags. I think it's quicker that way and you don't have to shift the pistol to do it.

·
Super Moderator
3,113 Posts
While an ambi-safety is needed by a southpaw, it is best to eschew any other specialty parts. The normal slide stop and magazine release can be operated with the left hand's index finger. It may be helpful to install a mag release spring with slightly less tension.

Rosco

·
Registered
9,204 Posts
S&A makes an ambi mag release. FWIW.

Actually, 3 companies made or offered mirror image 1911's. Randall (the first), Falcon Industries and Safari Arms. Only the first two were ever seen, AFAIK.

------------------
Ne Conjuge Nobiscum
MOLON LABE
Leonidas c 480 BC
FFF

·
Premium Member
6,416 Posts
I am left handed also. I think the ambi safety is all you need.To me the mag release is easier to operate with your trigger finger than the thumb . I have a Beretta 92 that has reversible mag release.After a few mag changes with it set up for a left handed shooter I switched it back

·
Premium Member
2,545 Posts
T_Smith,