1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm gonna start by saying that this is NOT meant to be a slamfest on old faithful, just wanted to share some thoughts and get some opinions. I bought a Sprinfield "loaded" model about 2 years ago. This pistol was not very accurate and not very reliable out of the box. After a little work and a lot of shooting it would only jam up on me once or twice every 100rds or so. I assumed nothing from this and I was pretty happy overrall with the pistol, until I started shooting some other styles of pistols. I had an el cheapo CZ40B that was 100% reliable and much more accurate. I recently bought a HK USP40 and the same goes for it. Then my hate affair began with my Springfield, I realized that it was the worst gun of the bunch and I know longer would have trusted my life to it. The Springfield has since been sold.

Now, the 1911 is IMO the best looking pistol ever made, absolutely beautiful. I just wonder if the "look" of the pistol somewhat clouds our judgement. I am fully aware of the long proven history of the 1911 in military use, but that 1911 has almost nothing in common with newly made pistols other than calibre. Countless times I read peoples reviews of new 1911's including gun rag writers. The one common link is that almost all seem to have some sort of malfunction, then the writer attributes this to either ammo or mags, and continues on like all is well. Of all the guns I've ever owned I've never experienced out of the box malfunctions of the type which plague new 1911's.

So what's the deal? I know that a whole bunch of people will respond saying that "I have a ..........., and it's been 100% reliable for me" Ok fine, but I'm pretty convinced that 1911's in general are far less reliable than some would have us believe. I'm probably not done owning or shooting 1911's, that new SIG has caught my eye, but for serious work I'll turn towards something else.