1911Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
610 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are AR style rifles really worth the money? I was out and about looking at them this weekend. It seems that you can get into a low-end BushMaster or Armalite for around $800. I've seen some really nice AK's for $300-$400 less.
Granted, The AR's are inherently more accuarte, and you can do a lot of customizing to them but, are the really worth the extra money?
The next question is, is the 5.56 a better round than the 7.62x39?
You comments are apreciatted.

Steve

------------------
"Not having thought what should have been thought, not having said what should have been said, not doing what should have been done, I beg thee forgive me, O Father." paraphrase from the 13th Warrior

·
Registered
953 Posts
Itd all in preference. I prefer the AR. I have a 16 inch bushmaster, and it is a tackdriver. I'm good with it out to the full 300 yds of my local range and soon will be trying it out on the local 500 yard range. That alone justifies the $800 that I spent on it. By the way it has yet to malufunction with quality mags (stay away from USA mags), and it shoots wolf ammo just as well as SOME of the match stuff. 7.62 is cheaper but that may not always be the case. I believe that the 5.56 is a good cartridge for what it is meant to do, as long as it is kept within its reasonable limits.

·
Registered
3,157 Posts
Originally posted by SteveW:
Are AR style rifles really worth the money? I was out and about looking at them this weekend. It seems that you can get into a low-end BushMaster or Armalite for around $800. I've seen some really nice AK's for $300-$400 less.
Granted, The AR's are inherently more accuarte, and you can do a lot of customizing to them but, are the really worth the extra money?
The next question is, is the 5.56 a better round than the 7.62x39?
You comments are apreciatted.

Steve

I look at AR's & AK's kinda like Glock's and 1911's.