1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My buddy picked up his Stainless TRP today. I've been shooting and working on 1911s for 10+ years now and this is his first 1911. He brought it over to have me look it over and show him how to strip/clean/lube it.

I was pretty darned impressed. Everything seemed to be pretty premium and the slide to frame fit was extraordinary. However there was one problem that I notied. There seemed to be a casting or milling error inside the magwell that started about 1/2 " inch from the bottom front and went up to about 1/4" inch from the ramp surface. It is a significantly deep, repetitive gouge that almost looks like a power-tool-driven scuff or scar. It does not seem to affect the magazine insertion or release. It is deep but probably does not jeopardize the structural integrity of the frame. It does, however, gall me and the new owner. It is not a cheap piece and to now know of this imperfection truly bothers him.

My question to the forum is a two parter-
a). have you seen this on other examples of Springfield?
b). what would you do if this was yours?

Any

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
may be tough...not my gun. Next time he's over I'll snap a pic.

Let's put it this way..it's deep enough that you could rasp wood on it. We aren't talking scratches we're talking measurable voids in the metal.:barf:

·
Registered
91 Posts
Just bought a new black stainless loaded 10 days ago. No marks like that in it. It is my first SA and I would be very upset if it were mine and had that error. Would do all I could to replace it before firing it.

Have several Colts and have not seen anything like that. Agree some kind of CNC machine mess up probably.

Good Luck.

·
Premium Member
4,787 Posts
45 THUD,