1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice when it comes to 1911's. My Kimber has a FLGR and my new Premier II has a standard which I never knew existed till I purchased my LB. I am toying with the idea of purchasing a Baer stainless FLGR and plug. Please educate the pros/cons of this part. Also, does the FLGR use the identical springs as does the standard guide rod. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
3,907 Posts
Spring rate will be the same. I recommend a search on this topic and you'll be able to read for hours the very opinionated discussions. Personally, I don't care about them either way. Happy Searching!

·
Registered
2,058 Posts
I dont see many reasons but one may be extra weight forward in the gun to reduzle muzzle rise. The problem on my TRP was that the stupid thing was 2 piece and needed a wrench to come apart and would loosen on its own even with locktite.

So no real benefit in my opinion so keep what works and leave the stock one in.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Spring rate will be the same. I recommend a search on this topic and you'll be able to read for hours the very opinionated discussions. Personally, I don't care about them either way. Happy Searching!
Yep, I am one who is very opinionated.

My opinion is you need to have a spring guide. All of them work. Plus or minuses of each type would depend on which type you prefer.

I do not see any advantage to one type over the other.

I read people say they have difficulity taking apart a gun with a full lenght guide rod. If the guide rod is properly fit, just remove the barrel bushing and disassemble the gun. No big deal. Not enough added weight to make any difference if you use a proper shooting grip.