1911Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a chance to buy a stripped AR receiver.

My options are a CMMG, Charles Daly, or Double Star. To be honest I have ZERO experience with any of these brands.

Can anyone offer an advice based on their own experience with these brands.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,294 Posts
Any of them will be good. I have 2 Double Star lowers and they are comparable to my Bushmaster and DPMS lowers. They have a nice even finish and the machining is good. There are relatively few AR lower manufacturers (5-6 major companies maybe?), everyone just stamps their name on the side.

·
Premium Member
9,610 Posts
also you can't go wrong with Armalite, Rock river or Stag.
i'll be getting an Armalite complete flattop upper for my Colt ar15 carbine.

·
Premium Member
3,294 Posts
Here is a list of manufacturers and who they build for.

LMT = LMT, Lauer(old), DS Arms, PWA, Eagle, Knights Armament, Barrett, Bushmaster (?)
CMT = Stag, RRA, High Standard, Noveske, Century (current), Global Tactical, CLE, S&W, MGI, Wilson Tactical, (some?) Colt, Ratworx
LAR = Grizzly, Bushmaster (L Prefix), Ameetech, (?)DPMS, CMMG, Double Star, Fulton
JVP = Double Star, LRB
MMS = Mega, GSE, Dalphon, POF (forged), Alexander Arms,
Olympic = Olypmic, SGW, Tromix, Palmetto, Dalphon, Frankford, (old) Century
So the real question is what do you want stamped on the side :)

·
Premium Member
2,535 Posts
don't forget Superior Arms! out of those 3 choices I would take any but the Charles Daly, I'm just not that impressed with any CD guns I've seen.

·
Registered
5,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for everyones input. The brands I listed are the ONLY choices I have, otherwise I would go with DPMS, I have a good source for uppers, or Bushmaster, I already own one.