1911Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,690 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I played with the Springfield Scout some more tonight. Sweet rifle. It seemed like a no-BS and very functional gun, like the middle-end pistols like the Berettas and Glocks.

I'm just curious, if money is no object, what's the BEST rifle you can buy in CA? I'm not concerned with finding smiths to work on them, available parts, or $$ at all. Let's say it was WORKMANSHIP as the only factor.

I have no rifle experience and don't know what to look for. The Sig R93 LRS2 looked really cool but it's a bolt rifle. I'm looking for something in that grade here in CA. Let me know...thanks.

------------------
Jeff More
Irvine, PRC
All your AR-15 are belong to us!

·
Registered
4,304 Posts
"Best" might be alittle subjective, and not neccessarily comensurate with cost for some people.

I don't think many military-style semi-autos stand in the class of such rifles as Blaser as far as quality of fabrication goes; but SIG, H&K and FN come to mind.

But I don't know if any of them are California-legal in any form you might be able to buy these days. Someone living in Ca. might be able to clarify that one. Right now it is so easy to fall foul of the law there, I am just glad I don't have to live there.

·
Registered
2,726 Posts
I would say look towards an M1 Garand. That will be a hard one for them to demonize as an "assault weapon" later on. It's also proven to have kicked a lot of various tuchis and is very reliable. Not too expensive, inexpensive (and surplus) ammo is available, lots of parts available, lots of accessories available (GI-issue ammo belts, bayonets, buttstock cleaning kits (there is a hinged door in the buttstock to stow it), and it's just plain fun. You can get five-round clips for it if you decide you want to hunt with it. Otherwise, it holds eight in it's standard clip. You can get clips in bulk cheap.

------------------