1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well I posted a little over a week ago that my SA had developed an issue where I had to "bump" the slide every time to fire. This issue developed after less then 100 rounds after the prior cleaning.

I also posted that I cleaned the gun and lubed it with mineral oil, since it was thicker than commercial gun oils and I had been using it on my old Hawken for roughly 20 years. Upon a trip to the range a week ago, this corrected the problem as I was able to feed three mags (21 rounds) without any problem.

So, fast forward to today...

Went back to the range yesterday and fired off about 45 or so rounds without ANY problems. So, now that I am approaching the amount of rounds that went thru it previously when the problem showed up, I'd figure I would disassemble and clean the weapon this evening.

Question is, what do y'all think is the best lubricant to use? Do I go back to a conventional off the shelf gun oil, stay with the mineral oil that seems to be fine (although I get a few nice splotches on my shirt when shooting), or do I go with one of those "dry" type lubes I keep reading about recently?

My only problem with the mineral oil is that I have to be careful in dirty/dusty and especially sandy environments, as EVERYTHING wants to stick to it.

Will the dry type lubricate for a longer period then the other types? I'd hate to think that if I didn't clean this SA for upwards of 100 rounds it would fail me if I really needed it...

·
Registered
551 Posts
I like CLP. I use it on everything.

·
Registered
2,817 Posts