1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like the title says I purchased a http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/21_876/products_id/411539799/Rock+Island+Armory+1911+Tactical+45+ACP+5%22+Parkerized yesterday. Buds had them for $349.00 so I couldn't pass on on it. I don't have a lot of experience with 1911s but I've been shooting and carrying handguns for 20 years. I own a SA GI model that's been trouble since I bought it. What can I expect from the RIA? As you can see from my join date and post count I get a little wordy:dope: Anyway looking forward to getting my hands on it, hoping it functions better than my springer as I would like to carry it.

Thanks
Jerry

·
Registered
803 Posts
Sounds like you scored a real deal on that one. RIA's are solid guns with a lifetime warranty and reportedly great customer service. I guess I would do a detail strip and clean off all the anti rust goop.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have read the MSH on these are plastic. This true and has there been any issues with this? Or is it just more "OMFG THE MSH IS PLASTIC!!!!!!!!" Non-issue panic?

·
Registered
5,151 Posts
Bought an entry level Springfield at a gunshow 5 years ago. Two weeks later I bought an entry level RIA at another gunshow. Shot the Springfield two, three times and sold it at another gunshow. The RIA is one of my favorites, and probably will never be sold.

Bob

·
Registered
5,151 Posts
I have read the MSH on these are plastic. This true and has there been any issues with this? Or is it just more "OMFG THE MSH IS PLASTIC!!!!!!!!" Non-issue panic?
I've never noticed a plastic MSH on a RIA? Colt, on the other hand, has been using plastic, even on some of their higher end products for over 20 years.

Bob

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·