1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to 1911's. This is on a brand new S&W E-series with exactly 122 rounds through it. Field strip in shop before range, field strip at range for some lubing, then fried 122 rounds.

Last night doing a light cleaning and noticed this. Could it have come from the factory this way? Could this be from contact with the frame?

As far as I can tell it does not affect function as if this point. Just a little disappointed to see this on a brand new firearm.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
13,941 Posts
I'll be interested to see what the more expierence armoror types say about this.

If it is a new gun, I would send the gun back to have a new barrel fitted under warrenty.

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
That should have been caught. As stated, it won't affect function, but I'd still know it's there - and it would bother me.

·
Banned
4,947 Posts
It is only cosmetic but so would a big scratch down the slide or frame. I would ask to have it changed but I would also expect push back from S&W. Let us know how you make out.

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Spoke to an acquaintance who works for Smith, and he suggested without hesitation to contact customer support. I did, and they suggested to send it in. It will go to Maine, and they are about 2.5 weeks turnaround right now. I sent pictures to the QA department first, before just sending away.

I hate parting with new stuff.

·
Premium Member
13,941 Posts
Spoke to an acquaintance who works for Smith, and he suggested without hesitation to contact customer support. I did, and they suggested to send it in. It will go to Maine, and they are about 2.5 weeks turnaround right now. I sent pictures to the QA department first, before just sending away.

Yes "emotional". I just sent a 1911 back today...In the long run always better though :).

·
Premium Member
15,729 Posts