1911Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
I'm new to the 1911s but have been reading the 1911 board for sometime. I did some research and choose a 1991 Commander as my 1st .45. I'm happy with my choice but am having some questions.

- The pistol shoots way left, about 6+" at 50 ft. The groups seem ok but I've never had a pistol shoot that far off. Has anyone else experienced this with their 1991? Is the solution as simple as moving the front sight or should I send it back to the factory?

- Speaking of the front sight, can this be replaced with one that is a bit more visable?

- I would like a couple quality 8rd mags. What manufacturers and types do you recommend?

- Because the grip safety digs into my hand when fired, is there any drop-in grip safety manufacturers / types you recommend.

Thanks, I appreciate any of your comments or suggestions.

·
Registered
332 Posts
hello and welcome to 1911 land. i may not have the answers you're looking for, but i'll do my best.

1)maybe drift the rear sight to the left a tad...how's it shooting at closer ranges? there's a possibility that it could be shooter induced. if so, do some dry firing and warm up to that sweet 1911 trigger.
2)it can be replaced. might suggest taking to a smith if you're new to gunsmithing.
3) www.wilsoncombat.com
4) wilson combat as well as kings offer a "drop" in beavertail grip safety. maybe others can direct you to kings' website.

good luck with it, and don't forget to post your range report!

------------------
Nothing like the smell of Breakfree to make my day complete.

·
Registered
2,545 Posts
Johnnyknoxville