1911Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered up a Wilson Combat 25CO Two Piece Guide Rod for my Para P-13 which is being fitted to a 9mm Officers slide and barrel. When I called Wilson Combat, they recommended using a Wolff 18# spring (The 25OC ships with a 20# spring). Brownell's was out when I passed through Iowa and Wolff was out of stock. Any reason I can't cut off one of the Government 18# springs I have to the Officer's length? My Para P-13 is only going to be a range plinking toy, not for CC.

·
Registered
155 Posts
I think you can with a conventional spring, but not a variable. I'm not an expert so wait until someone else responds. It's just a spring so you could always just try it.

·
Premium Member
14,582 Posts
The answer can get complicated, It is true that if you cut the GM spring so it doesn't stack at the Officers full recoil compressed length of .700", and it will provide the same weight as before being cut, but...here's the problem, it will be weak when in battery and closing to battery may be a problem. You would be way better off going to the flat wire spring for a recoil spring replacement.

LOG

·
Registered
421 Posts
Trying it won’t hurt anything. And you’ll know with one magazine if it’s ok or not. It’s just a spring. Worst case you’ll either have failure to feed or, on the other extreme, rocketing slide speed sending brass to the next county.

·
Premium Member
14,582 Posts
A shorter answer. NO! Use Some common sense, GM top, Officers bottom, count coils and note how long the cut spring would be by comparison.

LOG

Reactions: cavelamb

·
Premium Member
8,554 Posts
The wire gauge and number of coils will affect the spring tension. The Officers Model spring will have thicker wire gauge to contribute to a shorter spring providing proper tension.

Reactions: sawman556

·
Registered
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Sounds like the Wolff flat wire 18# spring is worth waiting for.