1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
14,685 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
can those with a felony conviction carry pepper spray?
got a call asking me about said subject.

a contractor friend's wife got busted for cocaine possession in '83.
been in no trouble since...but it's still on record

I'm sure state's laws vary (we're in Ohio) , but are there fed regs on such?

thanks

..L.T.A.

·
Registered
472 Posts
The Feds won't prosecute a Felon with a gun, unless it is an add-on to other slam dunk Felonies, why would they care about pepper spray ? Local and state laws vary about carrying pepper spray and taser like weapons and may prohibit a felon, or even a non felon, from carrying those.

·
Administrator
73,082 Posts
In most states pepper spray can be purchased at any sporting goods store without so much as asking for ID. I'm no lawyer but I can't imagine anyone wanting to bust a female for carrying pepper spray even if she once got into trouble 30+ years ago.

·
Registered
7,394 Posts
Technically no. Not in Idaho anyways. Felons are not allowed to have a weapon of any kind. But I seriously doubt she would get in any kind of trouble for it.

·
Registered
405 Posts
In most states pepper spray can be purchased at any sporting goods store without so much as asking for ID. I'm no lawyer but I can't imagine anyone wanting to bust a female for carrying pepper spray even if she once got into trouble 30+ years ago.
Always wise to double check local laws, but this seems reasonable. It might be different if said pepper spray was used for some nefarious activity it may be looked upon differently.

·
Banned
3,089 Posts
Now Cappi ... Haven't you been around long enough to know better than seeking legal advice on an internet forum?

That said, I know of no restrictions. But I'm not a criminal attorney either.

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
Cappi, why doesn't your friends wife try and get her record expunged?