1911Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am having difficulty fitting a new Kart barrel in a new 1911 i am building. i am using an older kart drop in barrel that i have in my Kimber custom as a reference.

here's the problem. the older barrel locks up perfectly in the new slide (a Baer). i have measured all of the critical dimensions of the upper locking lugs between the old and new barrel and everything appears to mike to within a few thou of one another.

the new barrel is a 'gunsmith' fit. this is my first attempt of not using a drop-in, and i am having a very hard time.

i have 100% lock up for both lugs. the issue is firing pin alignment. i can't see more than a small half moon with a piece of brass inserted into the chamber -- which is headspaced properly.

the older barrel aligns perfectly. i have filed quite a bit from the rear most locking lug in an attempt to get the barrel 'up' for the firing pin hole to center, but try as i may, i cannot get it to center. i had to remove quite a bit of material to get even a modest lock up value, and am sure i have probably ruined this brand new barrel in an attempt to get the firing pin hole centered.

what i can't figure out is what i did wrong. i have measured and re-measured both of the lugs on both of the barrels.

i have measured the overal height of the barrel in front of the lugs. i have measured the depth of the lugs. the only major difference i can find is that the older barrel is about 5 thou smaller

behind the first locking lug --measured an inch in front of the beginning of the chamber. aside from this small difference, i cannot account for why i can't get the firing pin hole centered.

it would be a shame to trash the barrel since it is locking up so beautifully.

·
Premium Member
12,067 Posts
gary gruber said:
...i am using an older kart drop in barrel that i have in my Kimber custom as a reference.