1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've got a new Remington R1 and I'm having a problem when loading the gun. If the slide is locked back and I put a full magazine it in, I can not slingshot the slide or pull it back at all. It behaves like the magazine is empty and the slide doesn't budge. I'm new to 1911s so if this is a problem with me or the gun or both any help is appreciated. I did some research online and I saw it might be something with the slide release? The gun seems to fuction as expected if the slide is forward when I insert a magazine.

Thanks!

·
Registered
15,653 Posts
Can you chamber a round by just tripping the slide stop instead of "slingshotting" it? Is there a shock buff in the gun? Have you recently replaced the recoil spring with a new one?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Can you chamber a round by just tripping the slide release?
I don't think I can when it gets stuck like this. I should add this doesn't happen every time but maybe about 80%

Also seems to happen more the higher number of rounds in the magazine. I have 7 round factory magazines

·
Registered
2,257 Posts
I don't think a new Remington comes with a shock buffer. How about trying it before it gets stuck? Can you make a demo video?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Check for a Shok Buff, I had one that I couldn't pull back far enough and that was the problem. Fred
I don't think a new Remington comes with a shock buffer. How about trying it before it gets stuck? Can you make a demo video?
No shock buffer in this gun. Its 100% factory. I don't have any ammo on hand to demo it at the moment.

·
Registered
3,798 Posts
Hi,