1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well to start I own a PT1911 from taurus.. its a great shooter and eats anything I feed it begging me for more.. But to load it I cant pull and tare my gun into two pieces like I was taught at TDI, it will jam up and not load. But if I use the slide release button it will load everytime... What is going on here, I want to carry it more often but I cant seeing as how I dont trust it 100%

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Its a stock 1911, what is a shock buff?? Im new to 1911 and have no clue what that is

·
Registered
2,876 Posts
Others have reported lots of trouble-free rounds with the PT1911. I did, too - until it inexplicably started to Refuse To Fire (RFT) when I pressed the trigger at about 700 rounds. The hammer would move a bit, though. Once it was scrupulously clean, it would run fine - for awhile. (The trigger/hammer/firing pin lock safety seemed to accrue a lot of crud.) I traded it for a pre-lock S&W 686 and went back to a bone-stock Colt NRM 1991A1 or a SIG P245 as an airliine travel gun. I have decided that the PT in PT1911 stands for Piece of Trash. YMMV.

Regards,
Andy

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Andy said:
Others have reported lots of trouble-free rounds with the PT1911. I did, too - until it inexplicably started to Refuse To Fire (RFT) when I pressed the trigger at about 700 rounds. The hammer would move a bit, though. Once it was scrupulously clean, it would run fine - for awhile. (The trigger/hammer/firing pin lock safety seemed to accrue a lot of crud.) I traded it for a pre-lock S&W 686 and went back to a bone-stock Colt NRM 1991A1 or a SIG P245 as an airliine travel gun. I have decided that the PT in PT1911 stands for Piece of Trash. YMMV.

Regards,
Andy
I have around 1700 through mine with no problems, except for the sling shot thing going on now

·
Hold my beer & watch this
5,570 Posts