1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
484 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to casting bullets. I am casting a 230 full wadcutter .357 bullet with a 6 cavity mold. After I get the mold warmed up the bullets are great, until they start sticking when the mold gets hot, I assume? The bullets also get the frosted appearance at this time. I assume that it is due to the mold being too hot. Do I need to remelt these bullets? Or will they work. They are only being pushed around 920 fps. I am using a RCBS 20lb pot, and warming the lead to where it will flow. I tried turning the heat down but it wont flow. I just get it warm enough to flow. If I have diagnosed the problem, any suggestions to keep the mold cool. I only get about 200 bullets thrown when it gets too hot. Thanks for any help. I have saved myself a bundle doing this, but would like to do it right. (got a buddy that has a auto luber/sizer) Regards, DC

------------------
front sight is good, front sight is good!

·
Registered
458 Posts
[I am casting a 230 full wadcutter .357 bullet with a 6 cavity mold.]

Well, I'm not sure what you mean by "230 full wadcutter .357 bullet".... standard weight bullet for a wadcutter .357 is 148-grains weight...

But to your question.... frosted bullets are useable.... so I wouldn't re-melt them. Your mould is too hot... I recommend casting with two moulds, as follows:

Step 1. Fill Mould A -- set it down to cool.

Step 2. Fill Mould B -- set it down to cool.

Step 3. Pick-up Mould A & break the sprue -- dump the bullets. Re-fill Mould A -- set it down to cool.

Step 4. Pick-up Mould B & break the sprue -- dump the bullets. Re-fill Mould B -- set it down to cool.

Step 5. Go to Step 3; repeat.

This will optimize your casting cycle, and keep your moulds cooler. I do this two-mould routine using different caliber bullet moulds, so I can cast an assortment of bullets at one session.