1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm on the verge of ordering a case of CCI Blazer ammo in .45acp. I was gonna use it to shoot a couple of IDPA matches at a local range to get the feel of competing. I'm a novice so, shooting match ammo is not necessary for me at the moment. Anyone ever use Blazer ammo? Is it gun friendly? I doubt if it's hard on the gun, but could use some advice. Natchez sells it for about just over 8 bucks a box (including shipping) and I thought it would be somethig decent to shoot at mass quantities until I get to my new home and get a reloader.
(I also have plenty of brass, so storing more brass is not an issue)

David

·
Registered
645 Posts
dsonyay -

I buy the CCI Blazer .45 ACP in 230 gr. FMJ from time to time because of the "low cost". It works just fine but is about the dirtiest stuff I have ever used. It's like shooting "black powder" at a Cowboy Action Event. I don't mind it being soo dirty because I clean my guns after every practice session. For only a dollar more per box you can get the S&B ammo that is much cleaner and the brass is reloadable.

MadDog

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I just found a local source that sells at great prices, esp in volume. I'm going to give them a call. I'd prefer buying locally vice the web. But I appreciate all the leads.

David

·
Registered
53 Posts
Hello fellow virginian, could you let me know your source? I live in Richmond, and am always interested in cheap ammo.

·
Registered
826 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sure, that would be The Armory in VA Beach.
5313 Indian River Rd Virginia Beach, VA (757) 424-1617

David

·
Registered
3,480 Posts