·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have the Pro CDP on my Christmas List, it beat out the following:
- Custom CDP
- SS Pro Carry TLE/RL
- SS Custom TLE/RL

After reading the Aluminum Frame issues thread, I am having second thoughts and am considering changing my Christmas List. Anyone have any reassurance or suggestions on which Kimber would be best. It will primarily be a range shooter and home defense weapon, perhaps it will be carried in the near future.

What is the best material for a Kimber? I like the idea of aluminum and/or Stainless, but I am not an expert. Please advise.

Thanks,
Max

·
Premium Member
889 Posts
Aluminum frames are great for guns that serve primarily as carry guns. If you want a range/HD gun I would suggest you go with a full size steel framed weapon. Aluminum is a softer and lighter material, so it will wear faster than a steel framed weapon. You will also experience more recoil due to the lighter frame, which may or may not make a difference to you if your going to be shooting at the range all the time. My range/HD gun is a TLE/RL II (steel framed), and my carry guns are a Tactical Custom II and an Ultra Carry II (both aluminum framed). If your planning on carrying it, then go for the Pro CDP II, it is a fine gun, but be aware that it will show wear significantly faster than a steel gun if you shoot it a lot.

·
Registered
78 Posts
I have a Kimber Gold Combat Stainless and a Kimber Pro CDP. Both are good guns but, in my opinion, are designed to do different jobs.

If you are serious about the using this gun for range shooting and home defense, I recommend that you go with a steel rather than an alloy frame and a 5 inch (full length) barrel rather than the shorter 4 inch barrel on the Pro. Carrying this a bit further, I would also suggest that you get a gun with a rail on it (like the TLE/RL or a Warrior) so that you can easily attach a light or a light and laser combination for home defense.