1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I'm new to EB. Can anyone tell me if the chainlink on the SF's is similar to the patterning on Kimbers Raptor series? I handled one this am, and I'm not sure I'm thrilled with it. Thanks ahead of time for any info.

·
Premium Member
2,749 Posts
JHead45, since I only own the KC with snakeskin treatment ang all my other pistols came with checkering, I'm actually looking forward to the CL. I recently ordered a NHC with the chain link treatment on front strap and msh, I'm looking forward to it. I can say that the snakeskin treatment on my KC and checkering on my LB Thunder Ranch Commanche work quite well as far as a firm grip. Though the checkering on the LB is a bit more abrasive for my tastes I'm looking forward to the chain-link on my NHC that I ordered. I could say that potentially in an extended period of use of different pistols with different treatments, I think the checkering would be the first to cause any discomfort. My KC with the snakesking is superb, though others may disagree saying that it's too smooth (for lack of better words) I would not expect an extended SD situation that would cause sweat to become a factor. As mentioned, I'm looking forward to the chainlink treatment as a happy medium...based on what I've been reading!

·
Registered
1,902 Posts
I have a SF with the chainlink and I have a buddy who has a Raptor. The pattern on the Kimber is a little more toothy to the touch and has a completely different appearance than the chainlink on the SF.

·
Registered
364 Posts
IMHO the chainlink is more subtle and works better >