1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new MC Operator, and have noticed that the duty rounds that I dump out of it tend to be pushed back into the case. What is the cause of this? I'm new to this weapon system...and appreciate any input!

·
Registered
2,231 Posts
Chambering a round in a 1911 can be a violent affair. Some 1911s are harder on cartridges that others due to variances in tolerance and manufacturing. Excessive bullet setback can be potentially dangerous, especially with +P loads. If you are getting bad setback with all of your factory rounds after just one or two chamberings, your pistol may have an issue.

·
Banned
5,052 Posts
Setback is common a common topic on this forum.

I've posted this information before:

The ammo is the most common culprit for setback, and results from insufficient neck tension. That said, setback itself is common, and the degree of setback from one chambering varies from none to 0.035" in my experience with 45 ACP ammo. My test of 240 rounds of factory 45 ACP ammunition showed a setback rate (of greater than 0.001") of 75% after a single chambering. The average setback was 0.010".

The largest setback I observed was a round of 9mm that moved 0.105" on a single chambering. Yikes!

The highest average amount of setback was with 40 S&W and 357 SIG which averaged 0.026" (a total of 16 rounds tested for each caliber).

I measured a total of 347 rounds all fed through single column 1911s. Calibers included 45, 40 S&W, 10mm, 357 Sig, 38 Super and 9mm Luger. All ammo was factory. All of the rounds tested with 40 S&W, 10mm, 357 Sig and 38 Super showed some setback (greater than 0.001"). The 9mm Luger had a setback rate of 97%.

Keep in mind that chambering a round is a violent process. Setback, to some degree, should not be unexpected. Rounds that have severe setback should not be fired, but I can't give you a number for what constitutes severe setback. Use your judgement.

·