1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this BB..and a fairly new student of the 1911. I have a Kimber classic which I've spent much time customising myself. I'm looking to have the front strap done, and I'm not to up on the idea of sending my gun away(to wilson, or kimber etc.) for a month or more. I live in Columbus OH. Any reccomendations? ...I've heard of a local cop, who when off duty, is a terrific custom/pistolsmith; But I'm leary. Who's good? Any hints? Thanks. --HD

·
Registered
104 Posts
Check out my website project. I just completed the section on front strap checkering. They turned out great too. As a first-timer.....I'm pretty sure you could do it yourself if you want to. Read the new section and look at the pictures......then if you still have any questions drop me an e-mail.
http://www.roderuscustom.tzo.com

Then select:

PROGRESS / SEPTEMBER 30 / DETAILS

over 20 photos to help illustrate. Hope it helps you. Take care.

------------------
I guess if we do that.....maybe we all earn the right to go home......

Please visit my Gunsmithing Web Project.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Ryan..I paid visit to your website, and now you've got me thinking "I can do this!" This was more informative than I could have hoped. For others who read this..go check out his sight..it's an A-Z for do-it-yourself'ers. I'll read up on applying bake-on next. Then I'll decide if I'm up to the task. Thanks again. --HD

·
Registered
850 Posts
Ryan,,Great Web site.

Thank you for sharing it with us.

Everyone should take a look at this if you are akin to doin'g it yourself.

I think I'm going to try the checkering. I got time. I'm patient....and I am too cheap to pay upwards of $200.00 to have someone else do it.

It use to be $65.00 in 1980.

------------------
ACK

"Make the First Shot Count"!

·
Registered
104 Posts