1911Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
773 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about to have a gun shipped in, and I need to choose a FFL. I've never done this before, but I've heard vague rumors that there can be trouble.

Aside from general plesant demeanor and reasonable fees, what should I be looking for?

What kind of trouble have people had in the past, and why?

·
Registered
147 Posts
I have mine shiped to a shop that I know. Fees are a factor but I like going to a shop that looks well run and will not be going out of business soon. I would not have it sent to any shop that seems to be on a shoe string budget.

·
Administrator
73,386 Posts
All you need is a valid FFL holder willing to do the transfer for you. I usually use my local gunsmith, who only charges me $20. The worst is a local gun shop that charges $55 for the transfer PLUS they will charge 10% of their retail price for any gun that they could've gotten in for the customer instead.

·
Registered
8,307 Posts
i have used the same well known area shop for anything i have had shipped in. things have always gone smoothly as i have an ongoing established relationship with them.

if you are not familiar with area shops, is there another area shooter you trust who could recommend a local one to you? also, as just mentioned, a reputable local smith is an option.

be safe, shoot well. :rock:

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
A local dealer that I just used for the first time only charged me $20 to transfer two S&W revolvers. Needless to say most of my business will be going to him in the future.

·
Registered
409 Posts
dsk said:
All you need is a valid FFL holder willing to do the transfer for you. I usually use my local gunsmith, who only charges me $20. The worst is a local gun shop that charges $55 for the transfer PLUS they will charge 10% of their retail price for any gun that they could've gotten in for the customer instead.
Those folks are "Bandits" and don't deserve any of your business.