1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read on some of the posts that it takes some of you 5 to 10 minutes to clean your gun after shooting. I'm a newbie in the 1911 circuit with a Colt Government Model 80 and a Kimber CDP Pro, and I'm afraid to tell you how long it takes me to clean either one of these guns. It takes me that long just to do the barrel. Am I being to thorough? I've learned a great deal from reading all of your posts and any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Don't feel bad, I usually spend 30 minutes to an hour cleaning mine after a good range trip (200 rounds or so). That's not a detail strip either!

It's my gun & it's not clean until "I" say it is... that takes however long it takes

Mac

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
20-30 mins for myself

------------------
The defensive firearm is a special-purpose piece of safety rescue equipment, designed to extricate a person . . . from the immediate threat of savagely violent crime. It is like the fire extinguisher. . . . Neither piece of equipment will do you any good if you don't know how to use it or are not psychologically prepared to face danger with that gear in your trained hands in a terror situation.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Just got back from a 300 round shoot with the Colt after having a Wilson Beaver tail saftey grip, Ed Brown hammer, Wilson ambi safety (I'm a lefty), Wilson main spring housing (the Colts was plastic)installed, and the barrell throated and polished. Personal best was achieved at 10 yards! Feel terrific, and don't care if it takes all night to clean!!! Just wanted to share. Thanks for interest.

·
Registered
9,204 Posts
gmanpma, welcome to the forum. Enjoy your 1911's.

------------------
Ne Conjuge Nobiscum
MOLON LABE
Leonidas c 480 BC
FFF

·
Vendor
1,642 Posts