1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting into this whole reloading business. I have been shooting handloaded ammo for years at competitions, but I have someone who has always done that for me. Now I am taking this into my own hands, and am acquiring all the equipment necessary.
My question is this - I have been looking through all sorts of shooter's supply catalogs, and see that theres all types of contrapments for cleaning used brass. My wallet is just pushed wayyyy too thin right now for me to invest in a cleaner. I'll just sit and clean all my own brass one at a time if I need to... I am also going to put every powder charge on a scale before it gets loaded into my competition loads... I don't mind getting meticulous. My question is - whats the best way to do this? What methods do you all use if you do clean brass?

·
Super Moderator
14,939 Posts
Depending on your shooting/handloading volume, wiping each case with a rag, though effective, will be very labor intensive. Midway has a tumbler/case separator set on sale for about $40. If you're really going to get into reloading a tumbler is very helpful.

·
Registered
14,937 Posts
You also don't need to weigh every charge, even for competition. Quality powder measures drop within .1grain, and that's plenty accurate enough.

·
Registered
147 Posts
I not much more experienced than you, but after a couple K rds loaded, I highly recommend a tumbler. The guys above helped me with understanding powder measure/scale variances. I now measure one charge, then do an accumulated weight average of five more, then I call it good. That method seems to be getting me closer to less than .1 gr variance. Have fun, I'm enjoying the heck out of it and the guys here are a real resource.

·
Registered
129 Posts