1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I just picked up this WW1 Colt 1911 from 1916. It’s in pretty good shape it’s all original except for the back strap and the grips and the finish is original. It seems to be one of the WE Strong inspected as the barrel receiver and slide are all marked with the S. Any idea of the value on this gun as I’m new to ww1 1911 collecting.

·
Premium Member
64 Posts
It went through a re-arsenal (or someone made some changes after it got out of the military) - the mainspring housing and grip safety are "incorrect"; they are not what the gun was manufactured/shipped with.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Take some detailed photos of the barrel. Is there any markings on the top of barrel, on the hood.? If it’s marked with an S only, you may have a rarer Springfield barrel installed, which would increase the value.

·
Administrator
74,040 Posts
HS means the barrel was made by High Standard during WW2. Unfortunately your pistol is mostly a parts gun from different eras. Unfortunately the finish isn't original either as it left the factory with a distinctive brushed blue finish.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
idk what the finish is then as it’s not parkerized like they were in ww2 and what kind of value would you put on it as the frame and the slide are still matching and are very rare

·
Administrator
74,040 Posts
It's blued, but it's a decades-old refinish. The surfaces are polished, while originally they had a brushed finish. Pistols in this sort of condition generally sell for around $1100 or so. The WE Strong marks on the frame and slide make for a good conversation starter, but those alone don't significantly increase the value, and generally a pistol has to still be in completely unaltered condition to be worth the big bucks anyway.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·