1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
i am relatively new to the 1911 platform and just purchased a used Colt commander 70s series. I was having some malfunctions with the cycling where the casing wasn't being extracted from the chamber. This would happen about 10-20% of the rounds i shot. I was using both Colt and Wilson mags they seemed to each have the same problem, i was running 230 grain ball ammo and the gun was mildly clean... could this be solved with something as simple as deep clean and lots of lubricant or does seem like a more serious issue with an ejector/ extractor? What do you suggest thanks for the help!

This ol 1911 is also my first handgun so any info about proper storage, ammo preferences, holster preferences would be appreciated.

- Crim

·
Registered
649 Posts
First thing, after thorough cleaning, is to adjust the extractor. There is a sticky in this forum from Steve in Allentown that will guide you through proper extractor adjustment.

·
Administrator
73,451 Posts
1. Check for sufficient extractor tension.
2. Make sure the extractor hook isn't chipped/broken.
3. Check for a loose ejector on the frame.
4. Make sure the slide isn't short-stroking due to a too-strong recoil spring or limp-wristing the pistol.
5. If the pistol has a match bushing installed check for proper linkdown.

·
Registered
2,367 Posts
That Wilson video is a real hoot. Since they manufacture their own extractors to fit their slides, it's possible they're able to set the extractor deflection during the manufacturing process which would explain why they never address the issue of deflection in their videos. I don't have a Wilson so I have no way to verify my guess.

For those few of us who don't own a Wilson, there's more to fitting an extractor than what you see in the various You Tube videos. The extractor fitting sticky above may prove very useful to those who are experiencing extractor related malfunctions.

·
Banned